License Transfers & State Exam Info

Transfers are individuals who are currently credentialed in another state who are seeking certification in North Carolina, or individuals who recently passed the VTNE outside of North Carolina. 

 

North Carolina does not accept reciprocity (in other words, you must be eligible for and pass their state examination, along with the VTNE, to become a Registered Veterinary Technician in the state of North Carolina).

What is required for me to be eligible to sit for the NC Veterinary Technician State Exam?

 

1. One must have graduated from an American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA) accredited program and have a passing score on the VTNE to be eligible to sit for the NC Veterinary Technician State Examination.


2. A degree conferred transcript. This means all course work is complete and the degree has been awarded/conferred. It is the applicant’s responsibility to request an official degree awarded/conferred transcript. This must be mailed directly from school/college to the Board office.


3. A VTNE score - available via the American Association of Veterinary State Boards (AAVSB). Applicants must have passed the Veterinary Technician National Examination (VTNE). A passing score is 425. It is the applicant’s responsibility to request (VTNE) scores from AAVSB (www.aavsb.org). This must be mailed directly to the Board from AAVSB.


4. License verification(s) from any state in which you held any professional license/registration. It is the applicant’s responsibility to request a license verification from any/all states which the applicant holds or has held any license, registration or certification. This must be mailed directly from the state(s) to the Board office.

 

It is the applicant’s responsibility to request transcripts, scores, license verifications,

etc. They must be mailed directly from the agency to the Board office. They may

not be mailed from the applicant or hand delivered.

Where can I find the NC Veterinary Technician State Exam Application?

 

The application can be located on the North Carolina Veterinary Medical Board (NCVMB) website. 

 

The fee is $50 and is non-refundable or applicable toward a future exam

What is on the NC Veterinary Technician State Exam?

 

The NC state exam consists of 50 questions and is based on the Practice Act (General Statutes and Administrative Rules) governing the practice of veterinary medicine in North Carolina. The exam also has questions based on the NCVMB FAQ page. Questions pertain to BOTH Veterinarians and Veterinary Technicians (ie: don't just study what pertains to Veterinary Technicians). Passing score is 75.

 

The exam consists of:

30 True/False

20 multiple choice questions

 

Results for this examination are known immediately.

The AAVSB will provide your official score report to the NCVMB weekly by Wednesday. The NCVMB will notify you of your Registration number via e-mail within 1 - 3 business days once your exam scores has been reported to us by AAVSB.

 

Where is the NC  Veterinary Technician State Exam given?

 

The state exam is administered online and there is an additional fee of $55 for the online format. Note - the exam is formatted to be open book. Studying is still encouraged, as there is a time limit for the exam.

Our Address:

North Carolina Association of Veterinary Technicians

P.O. Box 282

Cary, NC 27512

 

 

E-MAIL: info.ncavt@gmail.com

We Accept

Show More

Follow Us

  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Facebook Reflection

© 2023 by moonlight Glamping Proudly created with Wix.com